A physician who specializes in Pathology uses their expertise to diagnose adult and pediatric patients via laboratory examination of samples of body tissue.

The educational requirements to become a physician are lengthy and involve more than a decade of dedication to the patient safety and curing disease.

Training Required to Become a Pathologist Includes:

  • 4 Years of Undergraduate Education, usually with a strong emphasis on science/pre-med courses.
  • 4 Years of Medical School, consisting of preclinical and clinical rotations. Upon completion of medical school, students become MDs. However, additional training is required before earning the ability to practice medicine on their own as a physician. Some students also extend their undergraduate medical training by a year or two for research purposes.
  • 4 Years of Residency Training, also known as graduate medical education at an accredited program.
  • 1-3 Years of Fellowship Training, optional for those who wish to pursue careers in other sub-specialized fields.
  • Board Certification, also optional but very common. Ensures that the physician has been tested and deemed qualified to provide quality patient care in his or her specialty. Must be renewed every 6-10 years, depending on the specialty.
  • 60 Hours of Continuing Medical Education every 3 Years, required in North Carolina to ensure the physician’s continued knowledge, current skills level and to protect patients.

The Pathologist leads a team of non-physician health care providers, which includes:

  • Pathology Assistants (PA)
  • Nurse Practitioners (NP)
  • Registered Nurses (RN)
  • Lab Technicians